Panda Sugarcraft

Panda Sugarcraft

Even though I have (or had should I say) a part time job, my main thing in life at the moment is being a student.

Being a student means money and budgeting is always at the back of my mind. I think ideally, I’d like to do more sugarcraft so that I can be one of those people who makes elaborate cakes that no one dares to eat.

However, for the time being, I just do a bit of practise from time to time, and these pandas are great as you only need 2 colours (black and white), the only tool I used was a cocktail stick (or toothpick if you’re american), and a bit of powdered sugar and water to help things stick. Fondant icing does last a while too, so I wrapped up the leftovers for another day, like a true scrimper.

Anyway, I followed (to an extent) the instructions given, from a series of books by Frances Mcnaughton called Twenty to make. The pandas actually grace the cover of the twenty to make animals. It is a cheap book, and worth investing in (in my opinion) as a start to sugar craft.

Without giving too much away, as I imagine Frances would be pretty p***** off if I started plagerising her book, the pandas are completed in 3 main parts….the head which takes the longest due to the intricate detail of the face (especially the eyes) and the ears, the second part is the legs and feet, which also took me a while to make the paw prints and finally the main body. It was pretty intricate, but anyone can do it. I would even go as far to say it’s one to do with the kids, providing your kids are patient and calm!

4 thoughts on “Panda Sugarcraft

    • thank you so much πŸ™‚ i checked out your blog and it is a-ma-zing (anyone reading the comments should go check it out!) ^^ I couldn’t figure out how to follow it though, i’ll have to give it a harder try tomorrow as it’s 1.30am and my bed is getting angry at the lack of attention it’s getting πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

